May 26.6

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

Everyone is gone.  The lake
has calmed, its blue belies

its depth. I’ve finally adjusted
to the hues, the surprising

softness of the landscape,
given its history of sweeping

fires. I should  try and sleep
soon, 
getting on the road early,

but I can’t take my eyes off
the contrast of blue and butte,

or the recent arrival of a pair
of magpies, semaphores in flight.

I might stay up to wish upon
my cat star– it’s not all

a loss then, I’ve relearned
names, can sight them

through reckoning, at least
out here. Might be harder

in the city. No matter,
I am starting to see

trends, no need for stars
to hammer them home; 

aware what falls will
rise and what rises will fall;

e.g. am gaining practice
with declinations.

 

Leave a Reply

