June 12

comments 13
Uncategorized

There’s a bit of prairie
nested between the two

mountain passes
with long long grasses

and with all the wind
today it seemed

like green water
an inland ocean

a true friend
familiar but never

not surprising
and the big hawks

were out today
circling the foothills

like shadows
liberated

from the ground
and their shadows

of shadows
like afterthoughts

and a lone
tumbleweed

crossed 97
still a little green

but it’s early
in the season

and things will build
from here–

13 Comments

  1. The imagery in this poem is done so well…I feel like I am living inside of it. I really enjoyed this! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. This poem is one of the most beautiful and flowing I’ve ever read. I’m a huge fan of the nature imagery and the smooth and subtle way in which you portrayed your ideas. I absolutely love this! Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  3. “a true friend / familiar but never / not surprising”… could say that about your poems, too. Great stuff, and I’m so glad I get to see your work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

